First place taken by Tomas Abyu.

Ethiopian Tomas Abyu of Salford Harriers won the 2010 Baxters Loch Ness Marathon on Sunday 3 October, in 02:20:50.  In a year when faster times were expected due to the amended course, Tomas Abyu finished a clear five minutes ahead of the nearest runner. Runner up was Joseph Mbithi of Birchfield Harriers (2:25:50) and in third place was David Simpson of Corstorphine AAC (2:26:16).

Dinknesh Mekash Tefera of Ethiopia set a new record of 2:46:39 for the women's Baxters Loch Ness Marathon course on her first visit to the UK. Crossing the finish line in second place was Clare Prosser (3:05:39) and third was Lin Lascelles (3:05:56).


The marathon was supported by the Baxters River Ness 10K, the 10K Corporate Challenge, the Baxters River Ness 5K Fun Run and the Baxters Wee Nessie!

The title sponsor of the Loch Ness Marathon and Festival of Running has been Baxters since 2002 who believing in supporting the local community and maintaining a healthy lifestyle.

Associated charities for the event were Alzheimer Scotland, Breast Cancer Care, Highland Hospice, Macmillan Cancer Support and Marie Curie Cancer Care.

To be one of the first to register for the 2011 event, sign up here:


to be notified when registration is open.  The 2011 race will be held on Sunday 2 October 2011.

11 12

PACE is a  Publication