Edwiin Kipyego,

Yimer Wude win with brave runs

The elite men’s field for the Airtel Delhi half Marathon, comprising names like Atsedu Tsegay, the world’s fastest half marathoner of 2012, and defending champion Lelisa Desisa, had record-setting aspirations, but the hot weather and high humidity on the morning dictated otherwise. However, the tough conditions did not deter young Kenyan Edwin Kipyego and Ethiopian Yimer Wude from coming up with strong, front-running performances to clinch the overall men’s and women’s titles in the IAAF Gold Label event at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium on September 30, 2012.


Kipyego beat back a strong challenge from his countryman Leonard Langat, winning the final sprint surge to win in 60.55 minutes. Langat clocked 61.07, while Silas Kipruto followed home in 61.57 to complete a Kenyan clean sweep. Finishing fourth was another Kenyan, Titus Mbieshi, winner of the World 10K Bangalore, who was making his half marathon debut here and clocked 62.44.


The high-profile Ethiopian duo defending champion Lelisa Desisa and this year’s fastest athlete, Atsedu Tsegay wilted in the heat, with Desisa finishing a disappointing seventh in 62.50 and Atsedu Tsegay finishing out of the top 20.

Yimer won the women’s title in 61.10 and was followed home by her country women Waganesh Amare, who clocked 71.12 and Kenyan Helah Kiprop, who timed 71.18. Both the winners went home richer by USD 25,000. Namibian Helalia Johannes, who had a 12th place finish in the London Olympics Marathon, had to contend with fifth place, coming home in 71.43.

The Indian performances too were encouraging, with Rahul Kumar Pal breasting the tape in 66.12, winning the Indian category and finishing 16th overall.  

Nitender Singh followed him home two seconds later, while Indrajeet Singh sprinted home to finish one second later in 66.15.

Sudha Singh emerged the fastest Indian woman in 79.34, while former double winner Kavita Raut came in second.

A total of 31,746 runners participated in the Airtel Delhi Half Marathon 2012, which offered total prize money of USD 210,000.

Kipyego took the lead at the 11 km mark and though not confident of winning, thanks to the strong field, pushed a bit harder to see if the rest would respond. When the others continued to lag behind, Kipyego kept up his brave front running to win and clock a personal best.


Yimer, who won the bronze medal in 10,000 metres at the 2009 World Championships and took the silver in the 2011 All-Africa Games, was pushed hard by Waganesh and Helahand it was a sprint finish that saw her winning.



30th September 2012
Delhi, India

Click Here

Click Here


11 12

PACE is a  marathon-photos.com  Publication