Thousands of runners descended upon the picturesque Scottish Highlands to celebrate the 15th anniversary of the Baxters Loch Ness Marathon and Festival of Running this September.


Mohammad Abu-Rezeq from Altrincham won the marathon in a time of 2:20:52, while the first female across the line was Jennifer Wetton from Central AC in 2:47:03.

The first Highland resident home in the marathon was Paul Smith from Inverness in 2:56:14, who was presented with the HSPC Gerald Cooper Memorial Trophy along with a £1,000 donation to a charity of his choice.

The marathon’s Famous Five – Erica Christie, Fiona Rennie, Kenneth Stewart, John Cassells and Lucy Mackay – were also honoured at a special ceremony, having run in the marathon for all 15 years.


25 September 2016

Click Here

Click Here

In the accompanying Baxters River Ness 10K, the winner for the second year running was Neil Renault who took the tape in 30:37, with first female Fanni Gyurko crossing the line in 35:03.


The 2017 Baxters Loch Ness Marathon and Festival of Running – which also comprises the Baxters River Ness 5k, Corporate Challenge and Wee Nessie event for children - takes place on 24 September 2017.

13 14

PACE is a  Publication