The 29th Deep RiverRock Belfast City Marathon was held on Monday 3 May 2010. The event attracted a host of runners from across the world with serious athletes pounding the pavement alongside competitors in fancy dress on the gruelling 26.2 mile route.

Amid near perfect weather conditions 3,300 people took part in the main Marathon race. They were joined by 11,000 relay runners, 2,350 walkers and 1,500 fun runners, paving the way for record participation figures.

Starting outside the iconic Belfast City Hall at 9am; the marathon title was won by Ethiopian runner Urga Negewo in 2:16:56 - almost a minute outside Marty Deane’s record set in 1985.  Runner-up Mutai was out-sprinted by 7 seconds with David Kirkland in 3rd. Armagh’s Richard Turkington was the best local runner in 6th.

Sarah Stradling won the women’s race ahead of Maria McCambridge. The Letterkenny athlete, regarded as the pre-race favourite, made a strong start and was through 6 miles in 35:30 with Stradling on her tail. McCambridge led by 80 metres at one stage but then began to struggle. She hit the front at 17 miles and took 5 minutes off her best time, winning in 2:44:00.  North Belfast Harrier Breege Connolly took 3rd pace ahead of Ethiopia’s Enatesh Tadesse.

Darrell Erwin from Ballymena was first in the wheelchair race.

For 2010, pacers were introduced to the marathon for those attempting to finish the 26.2 mile race in times of three hours, three and a half hours, four hours and four and a half hours.  A positive contribution to the event, the organisers will maintain this aspect of the event in 2011.

2011 will see the 30th anniversary of the event.  The reaction of many thousands of spectators lining the city streets for the event has been largely responsible for the success of the Deep RiverRock Belfast City Marathon down through the years. It is internationally known as the ‘Friendly Marathon’, so why not come and enjoy the experience of a warm and friendly welcome in the city.


Entries for the 2011 Deep RiverRock Belfast City Marathon are currently available online via the website.


The Deep RiverRock Belfast City Marathon is sponsored by Aer Lingus, Belfast City Council, Charles Hurst Renault, New Balance, Sport Northern Ireland, Tayto, Translink and Up and Running. Media partners are the Daily Mirror and U105. Official accommodation partner is Premier Inn.

The 2010 Deep RiverRock Belfast City Marathon is organised by Belfast City Marathon Ltd., in partnership with Athletics Northern Ireland, Belfast City Council, the Department for Regional Development, Newtownabbey Borough Council, the Police Service of Northern Ireland and Translink.

13 14

PACE is a  Publication