The Edinburgh Marathon was first launched by GSi Events in 2003 and attracted 3,000 entrants.  In 2009, the number of entrants rose to 14,150 and in 2010 the number increased further to over 20,000, making the Edinburgh Marathon Festival the second largest in the UK.

The Edinburgh Marathon has been named amongst the world’s top 10 city marathons and, being primarily flat, is now known as the fastest marathon in the UK.

The 2010 route followed much of the same route as previous years.  It started in the city centre taking in Holyrood Park, Leith Links and Portobello Promenade, it then went through East Lothian before a grandstand finish in Musselburgh Racecourse.

The winner of the male main race was Steve Littler with a time of 02:26:30; second place went to Phil Hinch in 02:26:46 and David Bird came in third with a time of 02:31:02.  The women’s winner was Sarah Gee in 02:38:14; Julie Briscoe came in second place in 02:41:31 and third place was taken by Nicola Duncan with a time of 02:58:46.

Oxfam has joined the event as a principal charity partner for the next 3 years and the 2011 marathon will see 500 people running on behalf of Oxfam.

Oxfam declare themselves to be passionate about fighting poverty around the world.

19 20

PACE is a  Publication