The Northern Rock Cyclone Challenge took place on Saturday 12 June and has now become one of the premier cycling events in the UK.  With a choice of 3 distances, riders are offered the perfect platform in this non competitive race to test their own fitness levels, set themselves a personal challenge and ride within their own capabilities.

Entry statistics were up 94% on last year for this event which takes place anually along the roads around Newcastle.  The Northern Rock Cyclone weekend proved to be a popular weekend of cycling. The challenge started on Friday June 11 with the Leazes Park Criterium races. The Challenge Sportive then took place on Sunday June 13 with the Beaumont Trophy Premier calendar race which was held in the beautiful yet challenging riding of the Northumberland countryside.

The distances were set at:
Route A    33 miles
Route B    63 miles
Route C    104 miles

The Northern Rock Cyclone Challenge is part of the UCI Golden Wheel Series, which attracts riders from both inside and outside the UK.  Sportive challenges are becoming more popular because they are not races and competitors can travel at their own pace.

Prizes were offered to add a fun element to the races for those cyclists who raised the most amount of money for the charity of their choice, which included Shimano Pedals and Giro Atmos helmets.

In just four years, TriAthy has grown to become one of the most prestigious events on the Irish triathlon calendar. The 2010 race returned to the South Kildare town as an expanded two-day event with almost 3,000 participants.

OLYMPIC, SPRINT and TRY distances races took place in a fantastic sporting atmosphere over a sunny Irish Bank Holiday weekend. Thousands of supporters and locals came along to cheer on the participants as they swam the River Barrow, cycled on closed countryside roads and ran through the streets of the Heritage Town of Athy. The transition area, which is overlooked by White Castle, was a hive of colour, activity and excitement throughout the whole weekend with local pipers, bands and musicians adding to the adrenaline fuelled occasion.

n the OLYMPIC Mens race, Bryan McCrystal took first place in a time of 1:59:55 with Owen Cummins and Kevin Keane in 2nd and 3rd respectively. The OLYMPIC Womens race was won by Amy Wolfe in an impressive time of 2:11:15, with Elena Maslova and Aoife Lynch completing the podium places.

The Mens SPRINT race was won by Eddie Brennan in 1:02:41 who finished just one second ahead of Dermot Hickey. Third place went to James Hoare in a time of 1:03:24. The Womens SPRINT race was dominated by specialist Elena Maslova who took first place in a blistering time of 1:04:32. Fastest out of the water Laura Casey (junior athlete) raced bravely to finish 2nd in just 1:07:49. Aibhle Carroll (junior) came third in 1:08:37.

The inaugural TRY Mens race was won by Jason Miley - a strong contender in all three disciplines. The TRY Ladies race saw Aileen O’Reilly take the honours.

Next year’s TriAthy event will take place on 4th & 5th June 2011. Up to 3,600 people are expected to take part in the fifth anniversary race. Entries are now open.


7 8

PACE is a  Publication